In celebration of the International Year of Co-operatives (IYC), The Co-operators is donating a total of $220,000 to deserving co-ops across Canada through their National Co-op Challenge.

The challenge invited emerging and expanding Canadian co-operatives to submit an application to fund their initiatives. After a review process, 24 finalists were selected from four regions – West (includes British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut), Ontario, Quebec and Atlantic (New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland).

Each finalist created a 90 second video that highlights their co-op, shows their commitment and enthusiasm for co-op growth, and explains how they would use the funding. You can view these videos by visiting The Co-operators Facebook page. You can help a Canadian co-op win by casting your vote by November 21.

There will be 12 winners in total. Three co-ops from each of the four regions will receive:

> 1st place: $30,000 donation

> 2nd place: $15,000 donation

> 3rd place: $10,000 donation

One Grand Prize winner will be declared through a random draw of the first place winners and will receive consulting services, a resource package and professional video support to create a promotional video for their co-op.

When co-ops grow, everybody wins!